Author |
|
cusimar9 Newbie
Joined: 23 February 2009
Online Status: Offline Posts: 5
|
Posted: 21 April 2011 at 6:05am | IP Logged
|
|
|
I store local copies of emails in my web app. I use pop.GetMessageUids() to match the server UIDs against the UIDs stored in my database to ensure I only download each email once.
I have noticed that with some servers (i.e. gmail) the messages can only be downloaded once when using pop.DownloadEntireMessage(). Likewise if I receive an email into Outlook, the pop3 component won't be able to find it afterwards.
However Outlook downloads every message whether I have already downloaded it using my MailBee pop3 component or not.
Is this 'selective' download something I can have any control over?
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Igor AfterLogic Support
Joined: 24 June 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 6104
|
Posted: 21 April 2011 at 6:08am | IP Logged
|
|
|
I believe you cannot have any control over that in GMail case. With GMail POP3, you can only fetch message from it only once, it becomes unavailable after that. In general, POP3 behavior in GMail is highly non-standard one. Thus, whenever possible, using IMAP with GMail is recommended.
--
Regards,
Igor, AfterLogic Support
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Alex AfterLogic Support
Joined: 19 November 2003
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2206
|
Posted: 21 April 2011 at 8:52am | IP Logged
|
|
|
With POP3 Gmail, you can, however, change this behavior in Gmail's Settings / "Forwarding and POP/IMAP" / "When messages are accessed with POP" dropdown.
Regards,
Alex
|
Back to Top |
|
|
atamata Newbie
Joined: 02 April 2012
Online Status: Offline Posts: 15
|
Posted: 02 April 2012 at 2:25am | IP Logged
|
|
|
Alex wrote:
With POP3 Gmail, you can, however, change this behavior in Gmail's Settings / "Forwarding and POP/IMAP" / "When messages are accessed with POP" dropdown.
Regards,
Alex |
|
|
Hi I am trying to use Mailbee.net with gmail and when i change the setting in the "When messages are accessed with POP" dropdown and use the pop3.DownloadEntireMessages() method to effectively 'delete' the messages from the gmail inbox (as advised to) the selected action does not happen. Ie. when selecting "archive Gmail's copy" from the list the messages remain in the inbox and are not archived.
Are you able to advise?
mant thanks
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Igor AfterLogic Support
Joined: 24 June 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 6104
|
Posted: 02 April 2012 at 2:47am | IP Logged
|
|
|
Quote:
when selecting "archive Gmail's copy" from the list the messages remain in the inbox and are not archived. |
|
|
Well I have just tried this with my GMail account, with "Enable POP for all mail" and "Archive GMail's copy" options set. I have run POP3 Demo #1 several times in a row, and with each run a number of mails in Inbox decreased by 1 so another mail was fetched each time, and it looks like mails were moved to Archive indeed.
In fact, this isn't really MailBee-related issue as it uses standard POP3 approach so the same would apply to any other POP client.
--
Regards,
Igor, AfterLogic Support
|
Back to Top |
|
|
atamata Newbie
Joined: 02 April 2012
Online Status: Offline Posts: 15
|
Posted: 02 April 2012 at 7:19am | IP Logged
|
|
|
Igor wrote:
Quote:
when selecting "archive Gmail's copy" from the list the messages remain in the inbox and are not archived. |
|
|
Well I have just tried this with my GMail account, with "Enable POP for all mail" and "Archive GMail's copy" options set. I have run POP3 Demo #1 several times in a row, and with each run a number of mails in Inbox decreased by 1 so another mail was fetched each time, and it looks like mails were moved to Archive indeed.
In fact, this isn't really MailBee-related issue as it uses standard POP3 approach so the same would apply to any other POP client.
--
Regards,
Igor, AfterLogic Support |
|
|
Hi again, my fault I had forgotten the pop3.Disconnect at the end!
All working now :)
|
Back to Top |
|
|
ImmoConnect Newbie
Joined: 23 February 2009 Location: France
Online Status: Offline Posts: 35
|
Posted: 15 October 2013 at 7:12am | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hello,
I know this post is old but I'm facing the "issue" and I am wondering if there is a known workaroud for this ?
I mean, without go to google mail account parameters and check the option "all messages".
Thanks.
Regards.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Igor AfterLogic Support
Joined: 24 June 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 6104
|
Posted: 15 October 2013 at 11:32pm | IP Logged
|
|
|
I don't think so, the problem is unrelated to specific client, it's how POP3 service of Gmail behaves. I'd recommend using IMAP rather than POP3 with GMail.
--
Regards,
Igor, AfterLogic Support
|
Back to Top |
|
|