Author |
|
JerseyMike Newbie
Joined: 02 August 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 13
|
Posted: 14 October 2006 at 2:25pm | IP Logged
|
|
|
I have a stand alone .EXE that is using the MailBee.NET Objects. License has been purchased and is set using the static LicenseKey methods. This has been working flawlessly on my development machine.
I have rolled this out to production and when I attempt to run the EXE it tells me the component is not licensed and that the license key is invalid??? I store the license key in the registry. I exported the reg settings from my dev machine and imported on production. Settings and key are identical in both environments.
Please help...I'm dead in the water and need to get this working correctly on our production machine.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
JerseyMike Newbie
Joined: 02 August 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 13
|
Posted: 14 October 2006 at 2:41pm | IP Logged
|
|
|
My development machine is Windows XP Pro SP2.
The prod machine is Windows Server 2003 Web Edition.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Alex AfterLogic Support
Joined: 19 November 2003
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2206
|
Posted: 15 October 2006 at 6:32am | IP Logged
|
|
|
Have you tried to execute savekey utility on the server? Maybe, you exported key entry to wrong location (for instance, HKLU instead of HKLM). Also, you may try to install RegMon utility from sysinternals.com to find out why registry reading attempt for "MailBee.NET Objects" fails. Perhaps, there is a permissions issue (this is usually the case when the application is being run under non-administrator user context).
Please let us know if this helps.
Regards,
Alex
|
Back to Top |
|
|
JerseyMike Newbie
Joined: 02 August 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 13
|
Posted: 15 October 2006 at 8:54am | IP Logged
|
|
|
I verified registry entry is in correct location. This application is compiled as a console application. For grins, I created another version compiled as a Windows Form with a simple form and button to launch same code...that worked like a champ.
I am the administrator on the prod machine, the console app runs under the admin account as well.
I'm going to try to recompile the console app and copy back to prod. Maybe something was corrupted during compile/copy to prod. I have no reasonable explanation as to why this shouldn't be working based on troubleshooting so far.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
JerseyMike Newbie
Joined: 02 August 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 13
|
Posted: 15 October 2006 at 9:30am | IP Logged
|
|
|
I resolved the problem by putting the LicenseKey calls before anything else in my code. I noticed that I was NEW'ing up instances of the Pop3 and IMAP objects before the license key method was called. Once I moved this around in my declarations, the console applications works fine now.
This program worked previously as was on my development machine. Why I never received the license error until this went into production I still don't know.
But...it is working now.
|
Back to Top |
|
|