Search The ForumSearch   RegisterRegister  LoginLogin

AfterLogic WebMail Pro

 AfterLogic Forum : AfterLogic WebMail Pro
Subject Topic: specific documentation for s3 Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
randallcamacho
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 January 2017
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Posted: 25 March 2020 at 10:32am | IP Logged Quote randallcamacho

hi
for those who are not server/cloud - developers/administrators ;
simple clear clarification would be much appreciated.

1 "Region" in docs it mentions "specify your region ID"
what is this exactly ?
is this "AWS Service Endpoints" ?
https://docs.aws.amazon.com/general/latest/gr/rande.html
in other words if bucket is in US East (N. Virginia) should value entered be 'us-east-1' ?

2 "Host" in docs it mentions "hostname"
what is this exactly ?
is this "Virtual Hosting of Buckets" ?
https://docs.aws.amazon.com/AmazonS3/latest/dev/VirtualHosting.html
in other words if i name bucket "afterlogic" would the "Host" be
https://afterlogic.s3.amazonaws.com ?

i believe (hopefully) i have indeed created proper credentials for access/secret key.
i am not certain about Region and Host.

please provide as detailed as possible instructions ?
i do not believe the afterlogic docs are clear enough for users that are not experts with s3 /AWS

your very kind assistance in this is greatly appreciated.
i have indeed also applied all edits to afterlogic files including "update configuration" in database settings
Back to Top View randallcamacho's Profile Search for other posts by randallcamacho
 
randallcamacho
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 January 2017
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Posted: 25 March 2020 at 1:01pm | IP Logged Quote randallcamacho

likewise i try DigitalOcean repeatedly with failure.

"Host would look like digitaloceanspaces.com"
so regardless for digitalocean spaces location this will ALWAYS be the input for "Host" in AfterLogic admin ?

for "Region" in AfterLogic admin i specify "nyc3.digitaloceanspaces.com"
is this accurate ?

Back to Top View randallcamacho's Profile Search for other posts by randallcamacho
 
randallcamacho
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 January 2017
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Posted: 25 March 2020 at 1:13pm | IP Logged Quote randallcamacho

i am so sorry to have no choice to vent my frustration here.
in fact i am not sorry at all.
to many software owners do not understand/appreciate or care that the actual users of their software are actually not software developers.
you do not take the time or care to provide proper detailed documentation for average actual users/ actual site/business owners.

VERY VERY disappointing for my negative response here because i really do indeed love and appreciate AfterLogic but if your company decides to go down the typical road of PISS POOR documentation and service for non developers and actual business owners, then you only make sense to a select few.

good luck with that.
Back to Top View randallcamacho's Profile Search for other posts by randallcamacho
 
Igor
AfterLogic Support
AfterLogic Support


Joined: 24 June 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5427
Posted: 26 March 2020 at 12:56am | IP Logged Quote Igor

First of all, as the person in charge of the documentation, I must apologize that the documentation is not clear enough. The S3 integration feature is a very new thing to us here, and you're absolutely right, we should not assume that people using our products are developers/admins - at least where it's not about making code changes or integrating our products with their own solutions. And we are very much interested in improving the documentation, of course.

Honestly saying, we haven't dealt with using this kind of integration with, specifically, Amazon - just the DigitalOcean for now. For the DigitalOcean account we have, Region was set to "fra1", and Host was "digitaloceanspaces.com". I would assume that in your case, Region is "nyc3" and Host is "digitaloceanspaces.com" too. For Amazon S3, we assume it would be something very similar, "us-east-1" looks like a correct Region value, and while I'm not sure about the Host but it's probably "s3.amazonaws.com".

I hope including this kind of sample info into the documentation would help others, too - and we do plan to perform some testing with an account at Amazon S3, to extend the documentation and make it more clear. We're currently on a quarantine lockdown so I can't give any ETA, hope you understand. Thank you.

--
Regards,
Igor, Afterlogic Support
Back to Top View Igor's Profile Search for other posts by Igor
 
randallcamacho
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 January 2017
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Posted: 26 March 2020 at 5:20am | IP Logged Quote randallcamacho

Please accept my sincere apologise Mr. Igor.
My frustration got the better of me honestly after trying every possible combination
in terms of the "host" "region"etc etc.
in other words i eliminated https, i eliminated urls and only included ending domains then swapped them out in all possible combinations between the different AfterLogic input parameters over and over till a few grey hairs came out and even till those fell out.
(ok maybe not so much)
LOL
it was obviously a mad science on my part.
but truly at the same time,
i find it scary that you admitted
"Honestly saying, we haven't dealt with using this kind of integration with, specifically, Amazon"
even though i appreciate your honesty,
i cannot respect it because in all fairness i have not
heard of developers releasing software without testing.
and very thorough testing at that (coming from WordPress)
and even with thorough testing there are still un foreseen conflicts.

REGARDLESS !!!

thank you again for your frankness.
this feature is not immediately critical to me
but rather i was just excited to test out such a fascinating,
and obviously powerful integration.

the whole world is literally at the mercy of a virus
and economic instability.

again please forgive my undue haste in this.

Keep up the great work that is AfterLogic,
& I pray to the god of my understanding
that you, your family and friends and all your devoted customers be safe
during these uncertain times.

my apologies again,
BLESS
Randall.
Back to Top View randallcamacho's Profile Search for other posts by randallcamacho
 
Igor
AfterLogic Support
AfterLogic Support


Joined: 24 June 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5427
Posted: 22 June 2020 at 2:28am | IP Logged Quote Igor

A quick follow-up on this. We have just released version 8.4 of WebMail Pro and Aurora Corporate. It was extensively tested against both Amazon and DigitalOcean S3 storages. The documentation page on this was revised as well, it now contains specific instructions for both the platforms. Also, as a part of providing data backup guidelines, we've posted instructions on how to backup your S3 storage. We sincerely hope this helps those willing to use S3 integration feature with WebMail or Aurora.

--
Regards,
Igor, Afterlogic Support
Back to Top View Igor's Profile Search for other posts by Igor
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.9
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide